nomadbikes.blogg.se

Close lid macbook no sleep
Close lid macbook no sleep




  1. #Close lid macbook no sleep portable
  2. #Close lid macbook no sleep software
  3. #Close lid macbook no sleep free
  4. #Close lid macbook no sleep mac

#Close lid macbook no sleep free

Free app for overruling your MacBook's automatic sleep feature when closing its lid

#Close lid macbook no sleep mac

This and the fact that in order to actually disable the automatic sleep on lid closure feature you're required to perform a few quite complicated procedures (described on the "How to use your Mac notebook computer in closed-clamshell" page on the Apple Support website) have persuaded developers to create their own apps capable of helping you solve this problem easier. The unfortunate thing here is that Apple has not yet included any uncomplicated means to control the sleep behavior of your MacBook. Although this is, in most cases, a useful feature, at times it will also mean that apps you need to run around the clock will be forcefully stopped.

#Close lid macbook no sleep portable

Please give us the same courtesy.If your Mac of choice is a portable one, it most definitely also has a lid which, when closed, will automatically send your computer to sleep. why doesn't Apple just expose the setting.Īpple: I can run both Linux and Windows and have the OPTION to let my machine run with the lid closed. Running a 3rd party program may be OK, but every new program brings some risk. Sharing your internet connection? Seriously? That's a terrible idea as a general practice.Ĭ. In response to some of the options presented above:Ī. Regardless of how you personally feel about the issue, this type of behavior should be considered a basic security practice as well as a convenience. What happens when my laptop goes to sleep? I have to re-authenicate! My current employeer has great wireless access but requires a formal signoff to connect (via a web-page with ID/PW). Why should I advertise what I'm working on? What if it's the latest layoff list?ģ. I'm walking down the hall to a meeting and have the same issue. Someone walks into my office and I don't want them to see the confidential information on my screen (no. there are too many good business reasons to shut the lid without anything happening.ġ. and I have no problem letting it sleep / hibernate / or even fully shutting down. Sure, keeping it running while in a roller-bag is not good for the hard drive. it is far more dangerous for my laptop to be open than it is closed. As someone who is constantly moving around while at work - conference room to conference room to office to meeting to.

#Close lid macbook no sleep software

It's a simple software switch you are choosing not to make available to us. I can't do the things I could with a regular laptop running any other unix OS.Īpple, I like your ability to make things easy for people who don't know about computers, but that is not mutually exclusive with allowing more technical people to do what they need to do. Such arbitrary limitations seem to be frequent. I'm a little embarassed to be seen with this Macbook now.

close lid macbook no sleep

I either have to walk through the whole building opening and bumping into heavy doors with laptop open, (forget taking my coffee with me!) or I have to make my boss wait while my machine starts back up and re-connects to the wifi, etc. You work in a large building, and you need to show your boss your work, but he/she is in the opposite corner of the building. Seriously? I have to walk down the street with my open laptop in one hand and my coffee in the other to prevent the silly thing from sleeping? What if it's raining? I have to get my laptop wet simly because I can't flip a software switch to tell it not to sleep when I close the lid? MAJORLY dissappointing Apple. You have a virtual machine running inside you laptop for development and you want to walk half a block away to the other coffee shop. What an absurd limitation and incredible oversite! If you've used any other operating system on a laptop long enough you'll know how convienient it is to be able to shut the lid without it sleeping in certain situations.






Close lid macbook no sleep